#semicolonproject

On 10th July 2015 I had a semi-colon permanently inked on my skin. It was something that I had wanted to get for a while, given what it means to me, but I had no idea where to put it.

I already have two tattoos so the pain wasn’t so much of an issue, but I wanted the tattoo to be somewhere where I could see it. This ruled out the ankle or behind the ear.

My semi-colon project tattoo is my first, and likely last, visible tattoo. I chose to get the tattoo on the inside of my wrist, wrapping round the right hand side (on the bone because I’m THAT brave). The placement means that from lots of angles you cannot see the tattoo.

It might also be difficult, from certain angles, to know that the tattoo is a semi-colon, because if I extend my arm out the semi-colon is on its side. The reason for this is that it looks like a perfect semi-colon when I look directly at it. It is there as a symbol of power for me that I can get through anything that life throws at me. Now, at the stage where I am in life, I feel as though I can look back on darker times and be proud of how far that I have come.

Lots of people do not, however, make it, and that is the point of the semi-colon project. For those who are not aware of the message behind the semi colon image, a semi colon is used when a writer could have ended his sentence but chose not to. In essence, the sentence represents life and the writer the person with mental health issues. It is about raising awareness mainly of depression and suicide, but I view it as raising awareness of mental health in general.

The hope is that people will see these semi-colon tattoos popping up and will enquire as to what they mean, which in turn will raise awareness. Whilst doing this, it is also a great comfort to me when I look at my tattoo to know that things are never as bad as they seem.

Your story isn’t over #semicolonproject

semicolon project

2 thoughts on “#semicolonproject

  1. I too am planning on getting the semi colon tattoo in the very near future. I also live with Depression and Anxiety. I walk a journey of recovery each and every day. I have also been blessed to be able to work in the field of mental health which is a key component to my recovery. Each day I go to work I am able to reach out to others to help them in finding their own hope. To use their own semi colon of life. To sit with someone while they pause, and then decide to go on anyway is so rewarding and healing. Another key component on my journey is writing. I have written for years but just recently decided to start blogging. I am going to follow your blog, your journey, and I invite you to follow along on my blog as well. Thanks for your life semi colon.

    Like

    1. That’s beautiful Amy and so lovely to hear. Of course I will also follow your journey.

      I find that blogging is really useful in just off-loading your thoughts and if it helps others at the same time then all the better!

      Like

Leave a Reply

